web analytics

Archives

Recent Posts

Tendrils of Darkness — Epilogue

Epilogue   With No Man’s Land finally behin...

Tendrils of Darkness — Chapter 50: Final Confrontation

Final Confrontation   Years of sentinel train...

Tendrils of Darkness — Chapter 49: Secrets Revealed

Secrets Revealed   Circling Copius, the owlbe...

Categories

Best New Release Fantasy Books Coming Up July/August 2014

By / July 7, 2014 / no comments

 

 

 

July and August are some of the sweetest months this year for some big hitting fantasy releases, especially in the sequel department. This month has some outstanding fantasy releases and August looks to be one of the best months this YEAR in terms of fantasy greatness.

 

JULY RELEASES

 

Tower Lord (Raven’s Shadow, #2) by Anthony Ryan – July 1st

For many, this one is probably the most-looked forward fantasy release of this year. People are calling  The Blood Song, Ryan’s first in the series, a ‘warrior’ version of The Name of the Wind. For the most part, I agree. If you are looking for a coming of age, full of action, swords, magic, romance, heartbreak, and plenty of angst, then give The Blood Song a read. And of course you are going to want to read the sequel Tower Lord which is now out and which readers are widely saying is a fantastic sequel!

 

The Shadow Throne (Book 2 of The Shadow Campaign)  by Django Walker  – July 1

Continuing on after the fantastic The Thousand Names, one of my favorite fantasy releases of 2013, The Shadow Throne looks to continue that strong effort. This is one of the examples of a new subgenre of fantasy that merges colonialism and gunpowder, called Flintlock Fantasy or Gunpowder Fantasy (a modern twist on Steampunk). Together with Brian McClellan’s The Powder Mage series (of which book 2 in the series was released a couple months ago — read our review), this is one of the best examples of that new genre.

I’m not quite done with it, but from my reading so far, it’s every bit as good as the first book, though set in an urban location this time, not a desert. More political intrigue than the last book, which you may or may not like. If you want vicious action, intrigue, mystery, magic, strong characters, and an interesting setting, you should be reading this series!

 

Half a King (Shattered Sea) by Joe Abercrombie  – July 15

Joe Abercrombie is BACK, this time with a brand new series not related to his First Law universe. Ostensibly a YA series, but with that heavy touch of Abercrombie sarcasm and wit bound into it, this is a book you have to read this month.  I’m especially excited to read something new from him. Fans of that gritty, dry style of George Martin, Mark Lawrence, Steven Erikson, Glen Cook, Richard Morgan, etc, you are going to want to pick this one up.

 

=AUGUST RELEASES=

 

Fool’s Assassin by Robin Hobb – Aug 12

Hobb returns AGAIN to the Farseer world. You think poor Fitz would deserve some earned peace of mind after what Hobb has put the poor guy through for the first trilogy and the sequel trilogy. The man deserves his retirement, dammit! But it’s not to be so. I personally am kind of against the idea of ANOTHER trilogy with Fritz, but early reviews seem to be very very good, saying it’s some of the best stuff she’s written since Liveship Traders, though the pacing is slow (which may or may not be a bad thing.

 

Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman – August 5

One of my favorite fantasy series and a highly under-appreciated one. This outstanding trilogy comes to an end with Magician End. I like to call ‘The Magicians’ series kind of like a grown up Harry Potter, on downers. It’s got elements of Harry Potter, Alice and Wonderland, the Name of the Wind, the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe but deeply tinged with an adult perspective. This is the book I want to read most this year

 

The Broken Eye (Lightbringer, #3) by Brent Weeks – Aug 26th

I wasn’t so much a fan of Weeks first trilogy, The Night Angel, which I thought was pretty rough around the edges and too over-the-top with a hero and new magical power just around the corner of every single page. But his new trilogy, Lightbringer, is the real deal. It only keeps getting better too, with his first book, The Black Prism, only so so but with one of the best sequels I’ve read with the second book The Blinding Knife (which blew my socks off). Definitely read this series if you like coming of age, all out action, unique magic, politicking and epic fantasy. Fans of coming-of-age heroic fantasy in the vein of David Gemmell and Peter V Brett (the first book, not the other poor sequels dammit) will enjoy this series. Just don’t give up after the first book, book 2 dramatically improves things.

 

The Widow’s House (The Dagger and the Coin #4) by Daniel Abraham – August 5

The Dagger and the Coin is a series that you either love or you hate, there is very little in between. Those who ‘get it’ really get it, and those who don’t, just don’t. Depending on which side you are on, you are going to want to pick BOOK 5 up in his critically claimed epic fantasy next month. I’m still working my way through his last one, Tyrant’s Law, which is getting pretty interesting. On a whole, if you are a reader who like as LOT of politicking, strong characterizations, grayish characters with more emphasis on political maneuvering than straight out action and magic, then you’ll like this series. If you are expecting The Wheel of Time with a Rand al Thor character blasting away dark friends with powerful bouts of magic every other page, this is not a series for you. Those with patience who like a SLOW but steady build up over BOOKS will enjoy.

 

If I’ve missed any big upcoming releases for this month or next month, leave them in the comments and I will add them to the list!

About the author

Ben

Blog editor, admin and founder of BestFantasyBooks.comYou'll find me on the BestFantasyBook forums and spending my spare time reading fantasy books and writing lists for this site. In fact, I have no spare time -- running this site IS my spare time!

Comments

Want Recommendations?

Check out our Sister Recommendations Sites