haddingThe Best Fantasy Books
haddingBest Fantasy Lists
haddingBest Subgenre Lists
haddingFantasy Guides
haddingMovies & Games Lists
haddingFantasy Subgenres


img img img img img img img img

Malazan Book of the Fallen Comments

Since Tolkien, Fantasy has rarely been revolutionary, instead becoming more of an evolution and reinterpretation of Tolkien's original work. Well, I can honestly say Erickson's saga is revolutionary. No Fantasy book series is more epic in scope than The Malazan Book of the Fallen. His saga combines both military and epic fantasy into a delightful mix. Brilliant prose, epic storylines, gritty realism, fascinating mix of grey characters, Erickson combines the best of George R. Martin with the epic scope of the Greek Classics such as the Illiad and the Odyssey. One word when reading it: epiphany. A refreshing change from the usual Robert Jordan-esque fantasy clones that pop up like weeds these days.

Erikson is a prolific writer. The Malazan Book of the Fallen saga currently has 8 books as of December 2008 and has two more scheduled for release. Erikson co-created the Malazan world with Ian Cameron Esslemont. Esslemont's novels, which are set in the same world as Erikson's Malazan Book of the Fallen, are considered as canonical as Erickson's own. Esslemont's novels are called Novels of the Malazan Empire. Erikson also wrote several novellas (short novels) set in his Malazan world. His two novellas follow the storylines of Bauchelain, Korbal Broach and Emancipor Reese, three characters who appear briefly in Memories of Ice. I've listed all books from the Malazan universe. Read Malazan Book of the Fallen first, and if you can't get enough, read the Novels of the Malazan Empire books and the Novellas which follow some of Erikson's characters. Click on the book images to get the Amazon book descriptions.


Malazan Book of the Fallen:

Novels of the Malazan Empire:

stoneweilder malazan

Malazan Novellas: