Fantasy - a male preserve?

Discussion in 'Fantasy Authors' started by Sherwood Smith, Sep 3, 2013.

1. Sherwood Smith

Sherwood Smith A farm boy with a sword

As the female half of a fantasy writing partnership (The Vispadjinn by Sherwood H Smith) I am intrigued as to why it seems that mainly males both read and write the fantasy genre. Is it because the books are often action/plot predominant with less emphasis on character/emotions? Are fantasy novels written by female authors different? Can you tell the gender of the author if the name doesn't give it away?
    I always hate to confirm a stereotype but in our partnership my preserve has been mainly to deepen the characters, introduce some empathy etc. I have to admit that although I enjoy reading fantasy(as well as writing it!) I certainly don't read it to the exclusion of all else. That may be because in my other life I'm a teacher so have to read a lot of classic novels.
    I'd be fascinated to get others' views on this.

2. Sneaky Burrito

Sneaky Burrito Crazy Cat Lady Staff Member

I have never actually encountered a fantasy novel where I didn't know the gender of the author going in. I think the experiment could certainly be done -- give a handful of people a manuscript without the author's name attached (couldn't be a finished book, too many clues -- i.e., C.S. Friedman's picture is on the back, so the gender-neutral initials wouldn't help). Have them read it, then get their overall impressions. Alternatively, tell one set that the author is male and tell the other set that the author is female.

I am less inclined to be emotional about books or to give a crap about relationships, but maybe that's just me. (I'm a woman.) I do think many male authors have trouble writing believable female characters (either they're always pulling their braids or they're basically just men with female appearances). But other male authors do a good job.