Help improve a new writer.

Mark J. Stevens

Possibly a Darkfriend
I am a new author and have published on Amazon. My first an only book is a fantasy written for pre-teen to adult with violence but no overt sex or bad language. If anyone would be willing to review it I would love to hear your thoughts. It is called the Paladin and the Rod and I'll post it as a give away (free book) next month for a few days so you can try it and let me know. I would appreciate any constructive criticism and would be happy to send out a copy of the second book in the series to those who help the most.
Thank you for your time.

jo zebedee

Journeyed there and back again
My first response would be to ask if you'd like to do the same for me - read my entire book, critique it (which would take hours and hours and hours) and, as a courtesy, receive my next book as the only payment. Reciprocity is what makes the writing community go round - if you want people to do this for you, you need to be prepared to put in the time to do it for others....

But I'm not. (Because I already have motley crew of first readers.)

But, also - the time to do this is Before you bring your book out. That's when to get the constructive criticism - before the reviewers maul you instead.

Anyhow, because I'm nice (I am, really, despite the above) I went and had a look. The formatting is off-putting in the first instance, but I can live with that.

3rd line: plane should be plain (plane is an aeroplane)

That aside, the opening breaks so many of the rules - point of view, inciting/hook, info dumping.

Really, really - if you are serious about doing well as a writer, find a critique group and see if they can help. Online I'd recommend the sffchronicles.com (but they won't look at this, as they disbar already published work), critique circle and critters.org.

Best of luck with it.

Mark J. Stevens

Possibly a Darkfriend
Jo Zebedee,