I'd like some space opera/non hard sci recommendations

moonspawn

Journeyed there and back again
I'm very new to sci fi but I've greatly enjoyed the Ender Quartet and Hyperion. So far 1984, Commonwealth Saga, Forever Wars, Starship Trooper, Expanse and Old Man's War are very high up on my too read list. Is there anything else I should add? I also have zero to no interest in hard sci fi; techno babble isn't my thing.
I've also read Snow Crash, Wool, and Oryx and Crake which I didn't enjoy. Just looking for some good science fiction that's intellectual and challenging enough without being too intimidating.

btkong

Staff member
Hmm, try Hamilton's The Dreaming Void series or his more romantically minded Fallen Dragon standalone. Hamilton kind of writes grand space opera with a focus on characters, kind of like the way Dan Simmons does with Hyperion. A nice entertaining popcorn read without having to mash your brain against the wall trying to understand the concepts.

Give Simmon's other sci fi a read: Olympius and the sequel if you want to read about greek heroes on mars. Sounds weird but great read.

If you want something deep and about the characters (messed up ones), try Blindsight by Peter Watts. A serious read, but wonderful if you can get into it.

For something fun, try Ian Banks (RIP) Player of Games. It's intelligent but easy to read and a great segway into the Culture series.

Boreas

Staff member
I agree with btkong's recommendation of 'Player of Games' by the late Iain M. Banks. It's his second Culture book and a better and shorter introduction than his first, 'Consider Phlebas'.