Name of the Wind

tenthousand

Got in a fistfight with Dresden
Hey all,
Is there a place to talk about books you are currently reading? I searched in book club, but didn't find NotW in there which surprised me. Perhaps from searching from my phone, maybe it's there and I missed it.

In any case, I wanted to discuss it! I'm 100 pages from the end, and bought the sequel. I'm a little torn, because the writing is incredibly good, but the author skims over things I wish he'd talk more about. For example, I want to hear more about his classes. Anyway... Is this forum a good place to talk about books while you are reading thrm?

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

TomTB

Super Moderator
Staff member
I've moved to the book club section. Anyone is free to start a thread here if they want to :)

Maark Abbott

Journeyed there and back again
I enjoyed it, though I felt the story itself was a little weak and often predictable. But then I'm an Erikson veteran...

With the classes, I'd agree to an extent. It's a tricky beast because it's already 700 pages or so; discussion of the classes in detail would probably see it balloon to 800, and I don't think the story would have carried an extra hundred pages (mostly because Kvothe isn't yet a badass).

tenthousand

I agree. I think I thought it would be a little more adult and gritty, but yes, it's pretty predictable. And also, there's all these times that Denna and Kvothe speak, but he just says "we talked about nothing for hours"... and none of the talking tells us anything about Denna. I get it, she's private, has secrets, etc., but she just isn't well developed.

I think the best part of the book was the first 80 pages before the story gets told. I always enjoy 3rd person writing better than 1st, for character development. Suppose I"m a bit picky.

Silvion Night

Sir Readalot
Staff member
EDIT: AFTER I CALMED DOWN I REALISED THIS POST TURNED INTO A SOUR RANT. DON'T READ IF YOU DON'T WANT YOUR KKC READING EXPERIENCE RUINED.