Why Do You Read?

guilty_as_charged

A farm boy with a sword
Alright, so I recently joined this forum and I was amazed to see how many people enjoy reading/writing. Everyone reads for a different reason and I'm interested to know what yours are. I posted on the introductions forum why I read, (other than for pure enjoyment) and wanted to see if anyone has similar experiences, so post away!

guilty_as_charged

sopranosfan

Journeyed there and back again
I read for entertainment. I don't care if it is original, literary, or critically acclaimed. If it entertained me then I like the book, if I'm not then I don't like the book.

Jon Snow

No Power in the Verse can stop me
Staff member
Pretty much just enjoyment.

As of the last couple of years, I've also added that I read to help keep this site going. I read because publishers send me books.

I read because I like to practise what I preach, and that reading is fun and enjoyable, important and a life skill (I'm a teacher).

sopranosfan

That's cool, anything particular?

guilty_as_charged
I'm relatively new to the fantasy genre but everything I have read by Brandon Sanderson would fit that description. I have read 8 books by him and have enjoyed them all. He does a great job creating and describing a world without over describing or repeating himself very much.

Alucard

In the name of the Pizza Lord. Charge!
Staff member
I read different books for different reasons.
Fantasy books, I read mainly for entertainment.
Sci-fi, I read for making me think and contemplate about things I wouldn't normally. I read it for expanding my horizons as well as for fun.
I read non-fiction for education and learning things.

Derk of Derkholm

I read to lose myself in a gripping story for some time to forget about my own boring life in that time :)

Seriously, I do read for entertainment. And reading a good book for me has always been one of the best ways to pass time alone.

Best regards,
Andy

Boreas

Staff member