Why is Terry Brooks so popular?

Hi I am new to the fantasy genre (only read Harry Potter, LotR, american gods and some books by Trudi Canavan).
Some time ago i bought Terry Brook's Shannara trilogy because the cover looked fine and there was a quote by paolini saying "If u havent read Terry Brook, u havent read fantasy". After reading the first two books i just couldn't understand why Brooks was so popular, the Shannara world seemed empty, there existed no character development whatsoever and there were no surprises or plot twists in the book. After discovering this great site i ordered the four books from "A song of ice and fire" over amazon (which will arrive in a week or so). I grew tired of waiting and wanted to give the 3rd book in the shannara trilogi a chance. But after reading 2 chapter i realised that it begins exactly like the other 2 books in the series! The "mysterious" druid comes and warns of great danger, the kids must again venture out to save the world...
My question is: Why is Brooks so popular? Some people on amazon are praising him as if he is a genious. The Shannara books are definitely the most boring books i have ever read.
(sry for my bad English spelling and phrasing, and sry if i offended anyone, I just feel as if Brooks cheated me.)

btkong

Journeyed there and back again
Staff member