Runelords Series

by David Farland

0 avg rating
Book 10 of 18 in the Best Magic Systems
4 votes 0 comments

Certain works of fantasy are immediately recognizable as monuments, towering above the rest of the category. Authors of those works, such as Stephen R. Donaldson, Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind, come immediately to mind. Add to that list David Farland, whose epic Runelords series continues now in Sons of the Oak.

The story picks up eight years after the events of Lair of Bones and begins a new chapter in the Runelords saga focusing on Gaborn's son, Fallion. Gaborn, the Earth King, has been traveling far from his home, to strange and unknown places. While beyond the edge of the earth, he finally succumbs to the accelerated aging that comes from all of the endowments he has taken. His death is the signal for a revolution, an attack from the supernatural realms by immensely powerful immortal beings.

These forces have discovered that Gaborn's son is the resurrection of an immortal, one whose potential power is so great that he might be able to reorder the entire universe. Fallion's enemies have decided that they must control him, and failing that, destroy him. He is only a child, but he is the heir to Gaborn's kingdom, and so must flee to the ends of the earth to avoid the destruction of all that Gaborn accomplished.

One of the mightiest of contemporary fantasy epics continues.


Other books in series

Readers Also Liked

by Martin Hengst
by Jim Butcher
by Steven Erikson
by Naomi Novik
by Trudi Canavan

Runelords Series ranks on the following lists

leave a comment

Popular Lists with Runelords Series
Best Magic Systems
Best Magic Systems Ranked 10 out of 18 18 Books 145 Voters

Find Us on Facebook