The Eyre Affair

by Jasper Fforde

0 avg rating
Book 9 of 43 in the Comedic Fantasy Books
11 votes 0 comments

The first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with six more bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and the upcoming The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com.

Other books in series

Readers Also Liked

by Drew Hayes
by Barry Hughart
by Piers Anthony
by Le Sprague de Camp
by John Morressy

The Eyre Affair ranks on the following lists

leave a comment



0 comments
Popular Lists with The Eyre Affair
Best Fantasy Books
Best Fantasy Books Ranked 207 out of 441 441 Books 107398 Voters
Comedic Fantasy Books
Comedic Fantasy Books Ranked 9 out of 43 43 Books 400 Voters

Find Us on Facebook