Treasure Island

by Robert Louis Stevenson

0 avg rating
Book 6 of 28 in the Swashbuckling Fantasy Books
11 votes 0 comments
One of the most enduringly popular adventure tales, Treasure Island began in 1881 as a serialized adventure entitled "The Sea-Cook" in the periodical Young Folks. Completed during a stay at Davos, Switzerland, where Stevenson had gone for his health, it was published in 1883 in the form we know today.
Set in the eighteenth century, Treasure Island spins a heady tale of piracy, a mysterious treasure map, and a host of sinister characters charged with diabolical intentions. Seen through the eyes of Jim Hawkins, the cabin boy of the Hispaniola, the action-packed adventure tells of a perilous sea journey across the Spanish Main, a mutiny  led by the infamous Long John Silver, and a lethal scramble for buried treasure on an exotic isle.
Rich in atmosphere and character, Treasure Island continues to mesmerize readers with its perceptive views of the changing nature of human motives.

Other books in series

Readers Also Liked

by Jack Conner
by Rafael Sabatini
by Samuel Shellabarger
by Edmond Rostand
by Steven Brust

Treasure Island ranks on the following lists

leave a comment

Popular Lists with Treasure Island
Swashbuckling Fantasy Books
Swashbuckling Fantasy Books Ranked 6 out of 28 28 Books 206 Voters

Find Us on Facebook