Wonder-book For Girls And Boys

by Nathaniel Hawthorne

0 avg rating
Book 62 of 90 in the Fantasy Foundations
0 votes 0 comments
Six legends of Greek mythology, retold for children by Nathaniel Hawthorne. Included are The Gorgon’s Head, The Golden Touch, The Paradise of Children, The Three Golden Apples, The Miraculous Pitcher, and The Chimaera. In 1838, Hawthorne suggested to Henry Wadsworth Longfellow that they collaborate on a story for children based on the legend of the Pandora’s Box, but this never materialized. He wrote A Wonder Book between April and July 1851, adapting six legends most freely from Charles Anton’s A Classical Dictionary (1842). He set out deliberately to “modernize” the stories, freeing them from what he called “cold moonshine” and using a romantic, readable style that was criticized by adults but proved universally popular with children. With full-color illustrations throughout by Arthur Rackham.


Other books in series

Readers Also Liked

Wonder-book For Girls And Boys ranks on the following lists

leave a comment

Popular Lists with Wonder-book For Girls And Boys
Fantasy Foundations
Fantasy Foundations Ranked 62 out of 90 90 Books 1 Voters

Find Us on Facebook