Core Best Fantasy Lists
Best Yearly Lists
Best Decade Lists
Best Thematic Lists
Best Subgenre Lists
Fantasy Award Winners
Fantasy Guides
Movies & Games Lists
Fantasy Subgenres


STAY UPDATED WITH THE LATEST

FOLLOW BESTFANTASYBOOKS.COM

Nebula Award Winners

Books that WON the prestigious Nebula Award
These speculative fiction books won Nebula awards -- one of the most prestigious speculative fiction awards given out every year to the best speculative fiction book.
Annihilation won the 2015 Nebula Award for Best Novel. It beat out the following nominees to win:

The Goblin EmperorTrial by FireAncillary SwordThe Three-Body ProblemComing Home

Similar Recommendations

Ancillary Justice by Anne Leckie (Book 1 in the Imperial Radch trilogy) won the 2014 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson won the 2013 Nebula Award for best novel. 

Similar Recommendations

With a Martin-esque plot and Jim Butcher pace, The Axe and the Throne is a definite "must read" for even the pickiest fantasy fans.

In his stunning debut, Ireman has built the type of world so vivid and engrossing that leaving it at the end is agony. In spite of leaning toward grimdark, where authors often enshroud every scene in depressing darkness, there is no lack of cheerful moments or brilliant scenery. Yet the pangs of near-instant nostalgia that come after you put down a book like this have less to do with the inspired setting, and far more to do with those who inhabit it. 

From savage, unremorseful heroes, to deep, introspective villains, the cast of this story is comprised of believable characters capable of unthinkable actions. And it is these characters -- the ones you wish you could share a drink with or end up wanting to kill -- that forge the connection between fantasy and reality. Keethro, Titon, Ethel, Annora. These are names you will never forget, and each belongs to a man or woman as unique as they are memorable. 


No book would be complete without a its fair share of intrigue, however, and there is no lack of it here. Each chapter leaves you wanting more, and Ireman's masterful use of misdirection leads to an abundance of "oh shit" moments. Do not be fooled (or do -- perhaps that's part of the fun) by storylines that may appear trope-ish at first. This is no fairytale. 

Available on Amazon & Audible, Barns & Noble, iTunes, Google, and Kobo.

Among Others by Joe Walton won the 2012 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

BLackout / All Clear by Connie Willis won the 2011 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Award Nominations:2010 BSFA
The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi won the 2010 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:2008 NEBULA
Award Nominations:2008 LocusYA
Powers by Ursula K. Le Guin won the 2009 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael Chabon won the 2008 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:2006 NEBULA
Award Nominations:2006 CAMPBELL
Seeker by Jack McDevitt won the 2007 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Camouflage by Joe Haldeman won the 2006 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold won the 2005 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:2003 NEBULA
Award Nominations:2003 CLARKE, 2004 LocusSF
The Speed of Dark by Elizabeth Moon won the 2004 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

American Gods by Neil Gaiman won the 2003 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

The Quantum Rose by Catherine Asaro won the 2002 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

In the vein of Robert Jordan and David Eddings, C.M. Pendleton's A Dark Tyranny is quickly becoming a fan favorite...

The series debut, A Dark Tyranny, quickly gathered a dedicated reader base, due to its return to timeless qualities of traditional epic fantasy. The author and series have been featured in well-known blogs, as well as the internationally distributed magazine SciFiNow. Book two, Ruins of the West, was released in July 2016 and is quickly solidifying the quality of the series amongst fantasy readers.

An ancient evil has been awakened that seeks to burn through the world with a hungry vengeance. Wolven beasts and gorgons ravage the four realms of man. The hierarchy of class and heritage are no more, as families are torn apart and lives are forever changed. Kings and nobles fall whimpering or lashing out like savage dogs. A small few find their fate intertwined, as they fight for survival and for those they love.

An exiled commander is thrust back into a world he longed to forget.

A lone Nighteye finds his curse lifted and his true image restored.

A young noblewoman struggles to escape a gorgon caravan.

A former slave befriends an ancient and majestic creature.

The afflicted brother of a traitorous king discovers a secret that could cost him his life.

Of Darkness & the Light is a thrilling epic that brings readers into a vivid world full of magic, adventure, and treachery. For more info about the series check out the Amazon page,or visit the author's webpage to find out more info about his books and writing.

Darwin's Radio by Jack Greg Bear won the 2001 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:1999 NEBULA
Award Nominations:2001 CLARKE
Parable of the Talents by Octavia E. Butler won the 2000 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Award Nominations:1998 LocusSF
Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman won the 1999 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

The Moon and the Sun by Vonda N. McIntyre won the 1998 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Slow River by Nicola Griffith won the 1997 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:1995 NEBULA
Award Nominations:1996 HUGO
The Terminal Experiment by Robert J. Sawyer won the 1996 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Moving Mars by Greg Bear won the 1995 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson won the 1994 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Books in Mars Trilogy Series (3)

Similar Recommendations

Doomsday Book by Connie Willis won the 1993 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Stations of the Tide by Michael Swanwick won the 1992 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

Tehanu: The Last Book Of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin won the 1991 Nebula Award for Best Novel. 

Similar Recommendations

The Healer's War by Elizabeth Scarborough won the 1990 Nebular Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:1988 HUGO
Award Nominations:1989 NEBULA
Falling Free by Lois McMaster Bujold won the 1989 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

The Falling Woman by Pat Murphy won the 1988 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card won the 1987 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won: NEBULA, 1986 HUGO
Award Nominations:1986 LocusSF, 1985 NEBULA
Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card won the 1986 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Neuromancer by William Gibson won the 1985 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Startide by David Brin won the 1984 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:1982 NEBULA
Award Nominations:1982 BSFA, 1983 CAMPBELL
No Enemy But Time by Angel Martinez won the 1983 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Award Nominations:1982 HUGO, 1982 WFA
The Claw of the Concilliator by Gene Wolfe won the 1982 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Timescape by Gregory Benford won the 1981 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Award Nominations:1979 BSFA, 1980 LocusSF
The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur C. Clarke won the 1980 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Dreamsnake by Vonda N. McIntyre won the 1979 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Gateway by Frederik Pohl won the 1978 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Man Plus by Frederik Pohl won the 1977 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

The Forever War by Joe Haldeman won the 1976 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin won the 1975 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke won the 1974 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Award Nominations:1972 NEBULA
The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov won the 1973 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:1971 NEBULA
Award Nominations:1972 HUGO, 1972 LocusSF
A Time of Changes by Robert Silverberg won the 1972 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Ringworld by Larry Niven won the 1971 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin won the 1970 Nebula Award for Best Novel.One of the best examples of science fiction in the genre.

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:1968 NEBULA
Award Nominations:1969 HUGO
Rite of Passage by Alexei Panshin won the 1969 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:1967 NEBULA
Award Nominations:1968 HUGO
The Einstein Intersection by SAmuel R. Delany won the 1968 Nebula Award for Best Novel

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Award Nominations:1966 NEBULA, 1967 HUGO
Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes won the 1967 Nebula Award for Best Novel along with Babel-17 by Samuel R. Delany. This is the only time since the start of the Nebula Awards two books tied for the the Best Novel award.

Similar Recommendations

Comments (0)
Awards Won:1967 NEBULA
Award Nominations:1967 HUGO
Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes won the 1967 Nebula Award for Best Novel along with Babel-17 by Samuel R. Delany. This is the only time since the start of the Nebula Awards two books tied for the the Best Novel award.

Similar Recommendations

Dune by Frank Herbert won the very first Nebula Award for Best Novel in 1966. This was the FIRST Nebula Award ever given out.

Similar Recommendations



Our Version of the List

At a Glance

Publicly Ranked Version of the List

items >>